Round Two Ins & Outs

Clint Proctor has named an extended 31-man squad for Sunday afternoon’s visit of Carlton.
With Hawthorn in action before Box Hill a number of AFL-listed Hawks won’t feature at City Oval, though a couple of big names look set to push for selection in the not-too-distant future.

Will Day is named for Box Hill for the third week in succession and is joined in the back six by senior teammates Kyle Hartigan, Finn Maginness and Changkuoth Jiath.

A welcome addition comes in the form of Jarman Impey. The one-time Power star will make his first appearance of the 2022 season, having overcome a niggling ankle knack that has delayed his start to the new campaign. 
Among his team’s best in defeat last week, Daniel Howe resumes as part of Proctor’s midfield mix and will be vital in combating the Blues big-bodied inside mids.

Hard-running wingman Tom Phillips could feature alongside brother Ed should both figure in the final 23-man match day squad, with the impressive and in-form Irishman Conor Nash potentially deployed alongside them.
The front six, which combined for 17 goals at Victoria Park remains unchanged, lead by the tall trio of Jackson Callow, Emerson Jeka and Jacob Koschitzke. Ground support will be provided by the pacy Jack Saunders and Seamus Mitchell.

Jai Serong, who booted three goals on debut for Box Hill, completes the Hawks’ AFL-listed forward contingent, and will no doubt be out to build on an impressive start to life in Brown and Gold.
Ned Reeves has been named to take on ruck duties, supported by experienced Cal Porter and the developing Ned Long. 
Sam Butler returns to the fold as part of an extended bench, where he is named alongside a slew of Box Hill-listed talent including Fergus Greene, James Blanck, Mason De Wit, Ed Phillips and James Parsons.

Encouragingly, Jaylon Thorpe has been named to debut, having impressed since crossing from Williamstown in the off-season. Thorpe turned heads in his one appearance of the pre-season thus far, booting five goals in Box Hill’s practice match against Richmond. 

Thorpe is joined in the squad by Jordan Cunico. The smooth-moving former Cat has had a somewhat interrupted pre-season and would play just his third senior game for Box Hill since joining for the 2021 season.
Gippsland Power product Max Walton has been named to debut, winning his place in the squad as the 23rd man. 

The Hawks will be without former captain and reigning best and fairest Damian Mascitti, who suffered a concussion late in last week’s loss to Collingwood, while Ben Cavarra will miss having entered into the Club’s Health and Safety Protocols.
IN: Reeves, Maginness, Butler (NEW), Nash, Impey, Jiath, Thorpe (NEW), Cunico, Walton (NEW), T.Phillips (NEW), E.Phillips, Coghlan (NEW)

OUT: Mascitti (concussion), Cavarra (Health and Safety Protocols), Horner (managed), D’Angelo

FB 12. W Day 28. K Hartigan 4. J Impey
HB 32. F Maginness 53. H Beasley 9. C Jiath
C 21. T Phillips 11. C Nash 17. D Howe
HF 43. J Saunders 45. J Callow 40. S Mitchell
FF 29. J Serong 39. E Jeka 23. J Koschitzke
R 37. N Reeves 55. C Porter 27. N Long
INT 30. S Butler 35. J Morris 51. V Adduci
  54. J Blanck 56. F Greene 57. J Thorpe
  60. E Phillips 64. B Grey 65. J Cunico
  66. M De Wit 73. M Walton 74. L Coghlan
  88. J Parsons    

Similar Posts