Hawthorn Football Club

The Hawthorn Football Club and Box Hill Football Club established an alliance on 23rd December 1999, forming the Box Hill Hawks.
The affiliation sees Hawthorn players who are not selected in the side each week represent the Box Hill Hawks in the VFL. Hawthorn members are issued with Box Hill Hawks Season memberships. This allows them entry into every home match at Box Hill City Oval.

The alliance with Hawthorn continues to be one the most successful VFL/AFL partnerships in the league. Fourteen Box Hill players have been drafted into the AFL, highlighting the ongoing success of the VFL pathway. In addition to Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) and Michael Firrito (Kangaroos), other players include Michael Rix (St Kilda) as well as Ben McGlynn, Simon Taylor and Matthew Ball all of whom were drafted to Hawthorn.
Official Hawthorn Football Club Website