Round 15 Team Selection

Chris Newman and his match committee could welcome back a wealth of top talent for the visit of Port Melbourne, with the clash set to go a long way towards informing and determining both Club’s route towards and path through September.

The two clubs squared off on three occasions in 2017, producing three pulsating and memorable matches that delivered each available result: one win to Box Hill, one win to Port Melbourne and a draw.

The Hawks lose Olly Hanrahan, Brendan Whitecross and Tim O’Brien from the side that defeated Footscray last start, but have some potential match-winners come in in their place.

Conor Glass and James Cousins shape as telling inclusions, with developing youngster Jackson Ross also named after a week off.

Ross’ development has been encouraging during a recent four-week block, in which he showed equal parts athleticism, endurance and an eye for goal across half-forward.

As he was last week, Chris Jones has been included in Newman’s extended squad, with solid recent form at local level putting the key tall in the mix for his first senior match of 2018 following injury in the pre-season.

Nominally a forward, Jones has spent time across half-back since his return, affording his coach the option of some defensive cover if needed.

Joining Jones in the twenty-seven man line-up is Michael Knoll and Billy Murphy. The former might be required as ruck cover pending the fitness of the Hawks’ number one big man, Marc Pittonet, whilst the latter has excelled in two outings for NFL outfit Greensborough, twice named best afield following bags of four and six.

With the senior AFL side interstate this weekend Box Hill City Oval is the only venue for Melbourne-based Hawks to see the Brown and Gold in action. First bounce from 2:00pm, entry is free for Hawthorn members.

Ins: C. Glass, J. Cousins, J. Ross, C. Jones, M. Knoll, B. Murphy
Outs: O. Hanrahan, B. Whitecross, T. O’Brien

Box Hill Hawks vs. Port Melbourne
Sunday, 2:00pm, Box Hill City Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 44. C Glass 59. K Brand 32. D Mirra
HB 60. K Lovell 34. K Heatherley 50. D Willsmore
C 11. B Kilpatrick 46. J Cousins 37. J Ross
HF 36. D Moore 43. C Jiath 40. H Jones
F 45. C Nash 39. M Lewis 66. R Schoenmakers
R 56. M Pittonet 38. J Worpel 2. A Moore
Int 10. W Hams 1. L Mackie 12. C Jones
4. M O’Donnell 20. M Knoll 7. A Brolic
3. B Murphy 30. L Osborne
23rd 29. N Boucher

Similar Posts