VFL Round 6: Cav’s Back

Zane Littlejohn and his match committee have made six changes ahead of Sunday’s trip to the Whitten Oval, where the second placed Hawks will meet the ladder-leading Bulldogs.

The headline addition is, of course, the returning Ben Cavarra, who has been named to play his first game of football since the 2022 Elimination Final.

Cavarra was named captain of the VFL Team of the Year that season and kicked 41 goals from his 18 matches. The small forward sat out the Hawks’ 2023 campaign rehabbing a torn ACL and shapes as a welcome addition for not just Sunday’s big test, but the season as a whole.

Cooper Stephens and Clay Tucker are back in the 23 having missed last weekend’s win against Sydney, while Josh Bennetts returns for his first hit-out since the round three loss on the Gold Coast. 

The aforementioned quartet are joined by Jai Serong and Max Ramsden, who come back into the fold following stints with the AFL team. 

Calsher Dear’s excellent form has been rewarded with a senior debut, while Josh Ward’s past fortnight has also been recognised with a senior recall.

Jed Rule, Andreas Stefanakis and Josh Tovey are the unfortunate names to make way and they’re joined by the desperately unlucky Sam Butler, who’s broken leg will rule him out for the remainder of the year.

Sunday’s match is scheduled to get underway at 11:05am. Our final team will be communicated prior to the first bounce. 

Ins: J. Serong, C. Tucker, J. Bennetts, C. Stephens, M. Ramsden, B. Cavarra

Outs: J. Rule, A. Stefanakis, C. Dear, (AFL) J. Tovey, J. Ward (AFL), S. Butler (inj.)

Squad: 7. N Reeves, 20. C Wingard, 21. C Stephens, 26. B Ryan, 29. J Serong, 37. Eth Phillips, 38. M Ramsden, 41. J Bennetts, 42. B Macdonald, 43. J O’Sullivan, 44. H Hustwaite, 45. C Tucker, 50. M Hall, 51. N Philactides, 52. B Cavarra, 55. C Porter, 60. Ed Phillips, 62. S Horner, 66. C Brown, 68. D Wood, 72. A Mathieson, 77. B De Bolfo, 99. T Brown

Emergencies: H. Bidgood, J. Rule, A. Stefanakis, J. Tovey, K. Agosta

Similar Posts