VFL Round 6 Team: Kids Return For Casey Clash

The undefeated Box Hill Hawks have named an extended 31-man squad for Sunday’s clash with reigning premier Casey in Wonthaggi, with seven changes to the side which accounted for Coburg last Saturday.

Cam Mackenzie, the Hawks’ top pick in last year’s National Draft, is the headline inclusion, while fellow 2022 draftee Henry Hustwaite rejoins the fray for the first time since suffering a head knock during Box Hill’s Easter Monday win over Geelong. 

2021 recruits Connor MacDonald and Ned Long are also named, giving the midfield an exciting and youthful look, with the kids to be assisted by the experienced hands of Lloyd Meek, Cooper Stephens, Cal Porter, Ed Phillips and Cal Brown, among others. 

Box Hill’s rearguard is also replete with talented kids and will be held up by key position types James Blanck, Emerson Jeka and Denver Grainger-Barrass. 

Ethan Stanley returns to the match day squad as the Hawks’ 23rd man, having built an impressive case for his continued inclusion across three excellent outings thus far.

Hawthorn’s tactical sub for Saturday afternoon’s match-up with the Bulldogs will come from one of Jack Scrimshaw, Connor MacDonald, Mackenzie or Grainger-Barrass – who have all been named as emergencies for the senior side. 

Naturally, every magnet added to the whiteboard necessitates one be taken off. This leaves Joel Trudgeon, Max Hall, Tristen Waack and Damian Mascitti as the unlucky names squeezed out as a result of a healthy and available AFL contingent

Although, it’s worth noting one of Box Hill’s emergencies will replace the player Hawthorn elevate as their sub. 

Max Ramsden and Josh Weddle have seen their superb early-season form rewarded with senior debuts, while Co-Captain Hugh Beasley has been ruled out of the trip to Wonthaggi following a collision during the second quarter of last weekend’s match.

The defender entered the VFL’s concussion protocols as a result and will continue to be assessed over the coming days. A timeline for his return to play will be determined in due course.

We will confirm the final composition of our match day 23 prior to Sunday afternoon’s first bounce. 

Additions: J. Scrimshaw, C. Mackenzie, C. MacDonald, H. Hustwaite, D. Grainger-Barrass, N. Long, E. Stanley

Omissions: D. Mascitti, H. Beasley (concussion), J. Trudgeon, M. Hall, T. Waack, M. Ramsden (elevated), J. Weddle (elevated)

Squad: 14. J Scrimshaw, 16. L Bramble, 17. L Meek, 21. C Stephens, 23. J Koschitzke, 24. D Grainger-Barrass, 27. N Long, 28. C Mackenzie, 30. S Butler, 31. C MacDonald, 32. F Maginness, 35. J Morris, 36. J Blanck, 39. E Jeka, 41. J Bennetts, 42. B MacDonald, 43. J O’Sullivan, 44. H Hustwaite, 55. C Porter, 57. J Thorpe, 60. E Phillips, 65. E Stanley, 66. C Brown

Emergencies: 51. D Mascitti, 54. J Trudgeon, 59. J Rule, 61. M Hall, 67. D Murr, 68. L D’Angelo, 74. L Coghlan, 80. M Sruk

Similar Posts