David Mirra Reflects On Season 2015 So Far

LAST week, Box Hill’s captain David Mirra was named in the VFL’s team of the year for the fourth time – this time as captain.

“It’s a huge honour to be recognised in a team with some really outstanding players of the competition,” said Mirra.

The Hawks’ skipper responded graciously to the tremendous achievement, and hasn’t let it shift his focus from next weekend’s preliminary final.

“There’s a good feeling around the club at the moment with the development team heading into a grand final, and the seniors playing to get into one of our own,” said Mirra.

Whilst last weekend’s qualifying final saw the Hawks defeat their 2014 grand final opposition – Footscray – Mirra is adamant that the victory was in no way sweetened.

“Last year’s grand final is well and truly gone – so the win on the weekend was just to give ourselves the best shot of winning a grand final this year,” said Mirra.

Box Hill’s defence should certainly strengthen the Hawks’ chances of tasting success throughout September, and Mirra has attributed the squad’s stinginess to more than just the work of the defensive unit.

“There’s a big focus on full-team defence, and that’s been reiterated amongst each line all year – not just the back six,” said Mirra.

Box Hill’s full-team defence has led to the club having the best defensive record in the VFL, and has assisted in the development of a number of players.

“Tom Gordon has performed really well in the backline after he missed a few games last year, and Sam Collins has taken his game to another level,” said Mirra

The Hawks have also seen improvement in their midfield and forward line.

“Patrick Lawlor has added an extra element to the side with his run and opportunistic abilities inside forward 50, and Mitch O’Donnell has had an outstanding season.”

Box Hill will play its preliminary final against Sandringham at North Port Oval this Saturday at 2:40pm.

“The boys are up and about, excited, and ready to launch into what will be a big game,” said Mirra.

2015 VFL Team of the Year:

Coach: Paul Hudson (Sandringham) Captain: David Mirra (Box Hill Hawks) 
B Peter Faulks (Williamstown) Jake Wilson (Werribee) David Mirra (Box Hill Hawks)
HB Jordan Russell (Footscray) Michael Hartley (Coburg) Ryan Pendelbury (Collingwood)
C Mitch Banner (Williamstown) Clint Jones (Sandringham) Nick Rippon (North Ballarat)
HF Sam Dunell (Williamstown) Mitch Brown (Sandringham) Isaac Conway (Werribee)
F Andrew Gallucci (Williamstown) Jordan Lisle (Port Melbourne) Kyle Hardingham (Essendon)
R Nick Meese (Williamstown) Ben Jolley (Williamstown) Ozgur Uysal (Coburg)
Int Luke Kiel (North Ballarat) Myles Sewell (North Ballarat) Adam Marcon (Williamstown)
Matt Hanson (Werribee) Ben Moloney (Collingwood) Andrew Hooper (North Ballarat)

Photo credit: Jenny Owens

Similar Posts