Round 17 Team Selection

The Box Hill Hawks will return from the bye keen to consolidate a winning run towards September, knowing a win will keep them hot on the heels of the top four.

In the way this week sit the eleventh placed Sandringham, themselves within touching distance of the top eight, in what looms as just another season-defining clash on the road towards finals.

Chris Newman’s ins read positively enough, with experienced senior footballers Brendan Whitecross, Teia Miles, Will Langford, Tim O’Brien and Taylor Duryea joining developing AFL-listed talent Marc Pittonet, Jono O’Rourke, Harry Morrison and Olly Hanrahan amongst those jostling for position.

The side reads as a strong one on paper and will need to be on song to secure a vital four points.

The one name that stands as an outlier is that of four-time premiership star Shaun Burgoyne, who edges towards a return following a recent stint on the sidelines. Whilst his presence in the Box Hill squad is good news – it clearly suggests he’s nearing full fitness – it remains to be seen if he’ll don the Brown and Gold for the senior or reserve side.

With Nathan Boucher having played his allotted four matches as the 23rd man, Harrison Burt has been given his first taste of senior VFL action. Boucher remains in the mix following a string of positive performances and will hope to win himself a place in Newman’s twenty-three.

Hawks fans keen to catch the action can do so on Channel 7, with their broadcast beginning at 2pm.

Ins: B. Whitecross, T. Miles, M. Pittonet, J. O’Rourke, H. Morrison, W. Langford, T. O’Brien, T. Duryea, O. Hanrahan, S. Burgoyne, H. Burt (debut)
Outs: J. Worpel, K. Brand

Box Hill Hawks vs. Sandringham
Saturday, 2:10pm, Trevor Barker Beach Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 44. C Glass 34. K Heatherley 51. B Whitecross
HB 42. T Miles 32. D Mirra 40. H Jones
C 36. D Moore 46. J Cousins 35. H Morrison
HF 58. W Langford 61. T O’Brien 45. C Nash
F 43. C Jiath 39. M Lewis 64. T Duryea
R 56. M Pittonet 60. K Lovell 52. J O’Rourke
Int 68. S Burgoyne 12. C Jones 29. N Boucher
4. M O’Donnell 11. B Kilpatrick 41. O Hanrahan
10. W Hams 2. A Moore 37. J Ross
50. D Willsmore 7. A Brolic 20. M Knoll
23rd 16. H Burt

Similar Posts