Disappointing End to 2016 for Seniors

The Box Hill Hawks’ Senior team has ended their season with a 30-point loss to minor premiers Casey Scorpions yesterday at City Oval.

In what was Box Hill champion Sam Iles’ final VFL game, the Hawks were unable to walk away winners after a tightly contested four quarters.

Box Hill started the game strongly, keeping Casey to only four behinds in the first term, whilst goals from Hawthorn-listed pair Matt Spangher and Will Langford gave the Hawks a two goal lead at quarter time. However, the second quarter saw Casey quickly regain the lead, kicking four goals to one by the major break.

Casey’s dominance in the middle of the ground allowed them to take control of the game and play it on their terms. With 24 hitouts to Box Hill’s 15, and 24 clearances to 9, it was proving difficult for the Hawks to gain first use of the ball.

The third term saw Box Hill regain the lead and go into the final term with a nine-point lead. The Hawks intensified their pressure on the ball carrier throughout the third term, recording 25 tackles to Casey’s 6.

Box Hill was unable to combat a final quarter surge from the Scorpions. Hitting the lead after ten minutes of play, Casey continued to pile on the goals and walk away with a 30-point win.

It was a disappointing end to a challenging season, as the Box Hill Hawks finished with 7 wins and 11 losses and in 10th place.

2016 is over for our Seniors following the loss to Casey. However, our Development team finished the year as minor premiers and plays their first final against the Casey Scorpions next Saturday at Casey Fields.



Box Hill:        2.4  3.4  7.7  8.8  (56)

Casey:                      0.4  4.7  5.10  11.20  (86)



Box Hill: W. Langford 3, M. Spangher 2, B. Hardwick 2, K. Stewart

Casey: B. Kennedy 3, C. Pederson 3, D. Terlich 2, V. Michie 2, J. Spencer



Box Hill: D. Mirra 24, D. Willsmore 24, M. O’Donnell 22, M. Lock 21, W. Langford 21, D. Howe 20

Casey: C. Oliver 32, A. Neal-Bullen 30, V. Michie 28, J. Grimes 25, A. Scott 24



 Box Hill: D. Howe, W. Langford, D. Mirra, D. Willsmore, M. Spangher, M. O’Donnell

Casey: V. Michie, A. Neal-Bullen, L. Dunn, J. Grimes, C. Oliver


Photo: Jenny Owens Photography

Similar Posts