VFL Semi Final Team

The Box Hill Hawks have made three changes ahead of Saturday’s crunch Semi-Final against Footscray, re-calling youngster Tristen Waack and the injured duo of Josh Bennetts and Stu Horner.

Bennetts had played every game of the Hawks’ 2023 campaign up until last weekend’s Elimination Final defeat at Werribee, while Horner, the Club’s longest serving active player and Vice-Captain, has been dealing with a hamstring complaint picked up in the loss to Williamstown way back on the third of June.

It’s a strong trio of additions, with Horner and Waack to help shore up defence, while Bennetts provides pace and attacking impetus at half-forward.

Out of the 23 go developing prospects Max Hall, Liam Coghlan and last weekend’s 23rd man, Mitchell Sruk. 

All told the side boasts 15 AFL-listed Hawks, with a blend of youth and experience all across the park, while the eight VFL-listed players selected include the class of Damian Mascitti, leadership and steel of Cal Porter and Horner, the athleticism of Jaylon Thorpe, run of Ed Phillips, ball-winning of Cal Brown and talents of young guns Waack and Jake Arundell at either end of the field.

Saturday’s first bounce is scheduled for 11:30am, with the game to be broadcast on Channel 7.

For those wanting to follow along via stream, you can do so at this link.

As was the case in week one of the finals series, we recommend pre-purchasing tickets via this link. Please note: there will be no cash sales on the gate. Tickets can be purchased on arrival via card, but entry is subject to capacity. 

Ins: J. Bennetts, S. Horner, T. Waack (23rd man)

Outs: M. Hall, L. Coghlan, M. Sruk

Team: 16. L Bramble, 21. C Stephens, 23. J Koschitzke, 24. D Grainger-Barras, 26. F Greene, 27. N Long, 29. J Serong, 30. S Butler, 35. J Morris, 38. M Ramsden, 39. E Jeka, 41. J Bennetts, 42. B Macdonald,  44. H Hustwaite, 46. B Ryan, 50. D Mascitti, 55. C Porter, 57. J Thorpe, 60. E Phillips, 62. S Horner, 64. T Waack, 66. C Brown, 70. J Arundell

Emergencies: 54. J Trudgeon, 61. M Hall, 63. L Wynd, 74. L Coghlan, 80. M Sruk

Similar Posts