VFL Round 9 Team

The Box Hill Hawks have made seven changes to the side which accounted for the Northern Bullants a fortnight ago, with the ins comprised of a former captain, a young gun, a favourite son and a pair of mid-season draft bolters, among others.

Zane Littlejohn’s 23-man squad, set for the Sharks following a week off, shapes as one of his strongest of the season to date.

In to the mix comes the AFL-listed quartet of Jack Scrimshaw, Fergus Greene, Finn Maginness and, in a wonderful story, Jai Serong – who returns to football following a recent health battle. 

Greene’s inclusion is somewhat bittersweet, with the one-time Box Hill no.56 turned Hawks no.26 to make his first appearance at VFL level since his elevation to Hawthorn’s senior list. 

Damian Mascitti is another key in. A former Club captain and best and fairest winner, the smooth-moving utility sat out the round seven win over the Bullants, but kept himself sharp by playing for community club Doncaster East last weekend. He was, typically, among the best afield.

Another exciting addition is wingman Ethan Stanley. Known affectionately as ‘Milky,’ Stanley’s start to the season has seen the Frankston YCW flyer bob up in mid-season draft discussions. Box Hill’s no.65 spent the last fortnight playing in the ‘Young Guns’ showcase matches, impressing with his run, ball use and work rate.  

The final inclusion to the Hawks’ squad is Gippsland Power top-aged prospect Ryan Maric. The 193cm tall utility can play forward or back as is of interest to number of clubs in the build-up to next Wednesday’s draft. He’ll make his state league debut – but at which end of the ground? Time will tell.

Among the outs are Cam Mackenzie, James Blanck, Jacob Koschitzke and Sam Butler, who each impressed sufficiently to win promotion to Sam Mitchell’s senior side. Sadly, Emerson Jeka remains unavailable following a hamstring injury picked up during the second quarter at Preston City Oval. 

The Hawks will confirm the final composition – and any changes – to the selected side prior to Saturday’s first bounce, scheduled for 12:05pm.

Ins: J. Scrimshaw, F. Greene, J. Serong, F. Maginness, D. Mascitti, E. Stanley, R. Maric

Outs: C. Mackenzie, J. Blanck, J. Koschitzke, S. Butler, E. Jeka, M. Sruk, L. Coghlan 

Squad: 14. J Scrimshaw, 21. C Stephens, 24. D. Grainger-Barrass, 26. F Greene,  27. N Long, 29. J Serong, 32. F Maginness, 34. F O’Hara, 35. J Morris, 38. M Ramsden, 41. J Bennetts, 42. B Macdonald, 43. J O’Sullivan, 44. H Hustwaite, 50. D. Mascitti, 53. H Beasley, 55. C Porter, 57. J Thorpe, 60. E Phillips, 61. M Hall, 65. E Stanley, 66. C Brown, 72. R Maric (23rd man)

Emergencies: 54. J Trudgeon, 59. J Rule, 62. S Horner, 74. L Coghlan, 80. M Sruk, 82. C Bramble

Similar Posts