VFL Hawks Set 2023 Course

The 2023 Smithy’s VFL season will be contested across 22 rounds, with each side to have nine home matches, nine away matches and four byes.

Box Hill’s campaign begins away to 2022 semifinalists Sydney on Sunday the 26th of March, before concluding the weekend of August 19-20 away to Frankston.

Currently, days, times and venues have been confirmed through round 14, with the composition of the final eight rounds to be confirmed in due course. 

Early season highlights include an Easter Monday curtain raiser on the MCG against Geelong in round three, our first home game of the year a week later against Collingwood and a trip to Wonthaggi  for a VFL/VFLW double header against Casey in round 6.

Key takeaways

  • Home matches in rounds 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 19 & 21
  • Byes in rounds 2, 8, 13 and 20
  • MCG curtain raiser on Monday 10 April against Geelong
  • VFL/VFLW double header with Casey on Sunday 30 April in Wonthaggi
  • Three interstate trips: Sydney in round 1, Gold Coast Suns in round 14, GWS Giants in round 16.
  • A first match against Williamstown since round 9, 2019 in round 11
  • We play 18 of a possible 20 opponents – Carlton and Werribee the odd teams out. 

The best way to experience and enjoy the on and off-field action in 2023 is at the ground. The best way to help support the Box Hill Hawks is with a membership!

Click this link purchase your 2023 membership.

Round 1

Sydney Swans (A)

Tramway Oval

Sunday 26 March

10:05 AM


Round 3

Geelong (A)


Monday 10 April

11:45 AM

Round 4

Collingwood (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Sunday 16 April

12:00 PM

Round 5

Coburg (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Saturday 22 April

1:05 PM

Round 6

Casey Demons (H)

Wonthaggi Recreation Reserve

Sunday 30 April

2:05 PM

Round 7

Northern Bullants (A)

Preston City Oval

Saturday 5 May

2:05 PM


Round 9

Southport Sharks (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Saturday 20 May

12:05 PM

Round 10

Essendon (A)

NEC Hangar

Sunday 28 May

1:05 PM

Round 11

Williamstown (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Saturday 3 June

2:05 PM

Round 12

Brisbane Lions (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Saturday 10 June

12:05 PM


Round 14

Gold Coast Suns (A)

Metricon Stadium

Sunday 25 June

1:05 PM

Round 15

Port Melbourne (H)

Box Hill City Oval

Weekend July 1/2


Round 16

GWS Giants (A)

Venue TBC

Weekend July 8/9


Round 17

North Melbourne (A)

Venue TBC

Weekend July 15/16


Round 18

Richmond (A)

Venue TBC

Weekend July 22/23


Round 19

Sandringham (H)

Venue TBC

Weekend July 29/30



Round 21

Footscray (H)

Venue TBC

Weekend August 12/13


Round 22

Frankston (A)

Venue TBC

Weekend August 19/20


Please note: fixture is subject to change. Any amendments will be communicated if required. 

Similar Posts