Mirra wins second Col Austen Trophy

David Mirra has capped off another incredible individual campaign with the Box Hill Hawks, winning his second Col Austen Trophy.

The former captain played 15 VFL matches in 2019, averaging 19.3 disposals, seven marks and two tackles a game.

The award is the latest in a string of accolades for the 28-year-old, who already has two VFL premierships (2013, 2018), four VFL Team of the Year selections (2011, 2013, 2014, 2015), a Col Austen Trophy (2016) and a Norm Goss Medal as the best player in last year’s grand final win.

Hawthorn-listed ruckman Marc Pittonet was named runner-up in Box Hill’s best and fairest count, following a stellar campaign that saw him average 38.6 hit outs and 16.5 disposals.

Fresh off his first season in the brown and gold, Luke Meadows rounded out the top three off the back of a season that saw him play 19 games and average 21 disposals and five tackles.

Youngster Mackenzie Doreian was named Box Hill’s most promising player for his efforts in his five appearances across the season.

Liam Mackie was named best clubman after his second year at the Hawks, while Jackson Ross took home the VFL Leading Goal kicker award after booting 35 goals across the season to place him second in the league.

See the full list of winners from the Col Austen Trophy awards below.

Col Austen Trophy Winner: David Mirra
Runner up: Marc Pittonet
Third place: Luke Meadows
Leading goal kicker: Jackson Ross
Best clubman: Liam Mackie
Most Promising Player: Mackenzie Doreian
Presidents Award: Marc Pittonet
3WBC Most Outstanding Player: Mathew Walker
Trainers award: Nathan Mullenger-McHugh
Ron Gibbs Memorial Trophy: Mick Mirra

Similar Posts