TEAMS: Finals Week 1

A Hawthorn listed quartet headline the ins for this weekend’s Qualifying Final showdown against Port Melbourne at Box Hill City Oval.

Ty Vickery makes his return following suspension and will spearhead a new-look offence keen to generate more attacking threat than last time the two sides met.

Joe Fisher and Conor Nash, pinch-hitters up forward last weekend, have again been named in attack and will look to repeat their two-goal efforts against the Blues.

Fresh off some late season AFL exposure, exciting prospect Harry Morrison is back, forming a formidable looking half-back line comprised of himself, David Mirra and Will Hams.

Morrison, who made his AFL debut in Hawthorn’s Round 23 clash with the Western Bulldogs, has enjoyed a superb season with Box Hill, playing all but two matches at VFL level. At the time of this call-up he lead the team in marks and was top five in overall possessions.

He is joined in the back six by Conor Glass. Having played the first twelve VFL games of the season, Glass should be well pleased by his 2017. His form was such that he won an AFL call-up, which is testament to his ongoing development and ever-improving confidence. Glass’ dash, dare and intensity around the contest might prove vital.

Dallas Willsmore shapes as an important inclusion and brings run, carry and a goal threat to the Hawks’ half-forward line. Willsmore has managed 13 goals from his 14 games, including five in his last three.

Sadly, Chris Jones will miss the contest, having sustained serious injury in last weekend’s win over the Northern Blues. It is unclear at this point whether he’ll feature again in 2017.

INS: C Glass, H Morrison, D Willsmore, T Vickery, L Cox, A Kennedy
OUTS: L Walker, C Jones

Box Hill Hawks vs. Port Melbourne – VFL Qualifying Final
Sunday, 2:00pm, Box Hill City Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B  5. M Warren 34. K Heatherley 64. C Glass
HB 10. W Hams 1. D Mirra 35. H Morrison
C 41. O Hanrahan 61. B Whitecross 7. A Brolic
HF 70. D Willsmore 62. C Nash 40. K Stewart
F 42. T Miles 77. T Vickery 21. J Fisher
R 72. M Pittonet 2. A Moore 63. J O’Rourke
Int 23. J Walker 13. N Evans 28. L Cox
17. A Kennedy 3. W Murphy 11. B Kilpatrick
4. M O’Donnell 45. N Lane
23rd V. Adduci

It’s do or die, now or never for the Development boys, as they head to Burbank Oval for an Elimination Final against Williamstown.

Having endured a mid-season slump, our youngsters returned to winning form late in the campaign to book their finals place and will this September be shooting for their tenth Grand Final in a row in the division.

With the Development League wrapping up at season’s end we can’t think of any better way to end a wonderful era with another premiership cup.

Box Hill Hawks vs. Williamstown – VFL Vic Development League – Elimination Final
Saturday, 11:00am, Burbank Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 23. J Walker 25. J Firns 18. L Jeffs
HB 29. S Gibson 17. A Kennedy 13. N Evans
C 45. N Lane 28. L Cox 11. B Kilpatrick
HF 15. X Dimasi 54. T Horne 16. L Williams
F 4. M O’Donnell 33. D Hehir 3. W Murphy
R 19. C O’Sullivan 9. B Evans 8. A Bond
Int 50. J Haynes 14. M Traynor 49. L Walker
58. M Knoll 48. S Parsons 22. Z Monkhorst
59. J McCormack 47. H Burt 53. T Castledine
56. R Rusan 55. T Jacotine 57. T Davies

Similar Posts