Round 5 Ins and Outs

Box Hill and Coburg meet for the ANZAC Cup for the first time since Round 4, 2019 this Sunday afternoon, with Clint Proctor having made six changes from the outfit which beat Sandringham two weeks ago.

The back six represents an experienced core of VFL talent, lead by Hugh Beasley, Damian Mascitti and Stu Horner.

Daniel Howe returns to the fray having missed last weekend, while Lachie Bramble will see his first minutes of competitive football for the season.

Bramble played 10 senior games in his debut campaign at Hawthorn and looked set to start the season in Sam Mitchell’s side before a foot injury against Collingwood in early March pressed pause on 2022.

The pair join the in-form Jordan Cunico in Proctor’s midfield mix and will be ably supported by Ed Phillips, Cal Porter and the developing Ned Long.

The ruck situation continues to be a talking point and this side presents any number of potential solutions to, arguably, Box Hill’s biggest selection headache.

Jaylon Thorpe and James Blanck have shouldered ruck duties at times this season, while James Parsons played the position to great effect against Sandringham on the MCG. The former Cat competed well enough as an undersized ruck in the contest, before dominating on the ground to kick three goals.

Then there’s two fresh faced wildcards out to test their mettle against Coburg’s Peter McEvoy – new recruit David Brinker-Ritchie and Rowville’s Lachie Wynd, with the tall pair set to make their VFL debuts.

Fergus Greene misses having tested positive for COVID earlier in the week, so the forward line has been re-tooled to give pace a chance.

Seamus Mitchell, Sam Butler, Jack Saunders, Ben Cavarra and Vincent Adduci will all look to roam across half-forward, working at the feet of tall targets Emerson Jeka and Jackson Callow.

With the first bounce scheduled for 1:05pm our final team will be confirmed at 12:30pm.

Ins: D. Howe, L. Bramble, S. Mitchell, J. Saunders, D. Brinker-Ritchie (NEW), L Wynd (NEW)
Outs: L. Shiels, T. Phillips, J. Koschitzke, J. Serong, C. Downie, F. Greene (Health and Safety)

FB 35. J Morris 53. H Beasley 62. S Horner
HB 54. J Blanck 57. J Thorpe 50. D Mascitti
C 60. E Phillips 65. J Cunico 16. L Bramble
HF 43. J Saunders 52. B Cavarra 30. S Butler
FF 40. S Mitchell 39. E Jeka 45. J Callow
R 88. J Parsons 27. N Long 17. D Howe
INT 55. C Porter 51. V Adduci 63. L Wynd
  66. M De Wit 61. M Hall 70. J Arundell
  91. D Brinker-Ritchie    

Similar Posts