Round 19 Selection

Box Hill travel to Avalon Airport Oval knowing a win will secure the Club a finals berth for 2018 and the ninth annual beyondblue Cup, though they’ll have to make do without the services of skipper Andrew Moore.

Moore will miss Saturday’s match, as well as the round 20 match of the round against Casey, after being suspended for two games following an incident with Collingwood’s Jarryd Blair during last weekend’s stirring win against the Magpies.

But the captain is just one of a number of changes to Chris Newman’s side, with the extended 27-man squad representing opportunity for a number of recalled VFL-listed players.

Lachie Walker could figure in just his second game of senior VFL football for the season, whilst Billy Murphy is in line to don the Brown and Gold for the first time since the round eleven win over Frankston, some eight weeks ago.

Young speedster Nathan Boucher, who impressed during his recent two-match stint as 23rd man, may potentially play as a member of the 22 for the first time since joining the Club in the off-season.

Vice-Captain Nick Evans has been named following an extended stint on the sidelines and if he makes the matchday squad would feature amongst Newman’s magnets for the first time since Box Hill and Werribee last met, back in round nine.

Evans had been a victim of the mid-season squeeze for spots and was playing for local club South Croydon when he broke his jaw. Having made a successful return to the field last weekend he’s won his way back into the reckoning this.

Also joining Evans in a return from the treatment room is Anthony Brolic. Named in the 2017 VFL Team of the Year, Brolic was a late omission from the side that beat Collingwood last start, the Hawks’ medical team taking a conservative approach with a niggling injury.

Liam Mackie will look to add to his four games for Box Hill since joining the Club, whilst big-man Michael Knoll has been named amongst those on the interchange bench for what could be his second appearance of 2018.

Joining Moore amongst the exclusions are leading goalkicker Mitch Lewis and Will Langford (both injured) and the elevated Conor Nash, who has been named to make his debut for Hawthorn on Saturday.

Ins: L. Walker, B. Murphy, N. Boucher, A. Brolic, M. Knoll, N. Evans, L. Mackie
Outs: A. Moore, M. Lewis, C. Nash, W. Langford

Box Hill Hawks vs. Werribee
Saturday, 1:00pm, Avalon Airport Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 4. M O’Donnell 34. K Heatherley 10. W Hams
HB 50. D Willsmore 32. D Mirra 44. C Glass
C 36. D Moore 46. J Cousins 11. B Kilpatrick
HF 64. T Duryea 61. T O’Brien 41. O Hanrahan
F 43. C Jiath 12. C Jones 37. J Ross
R 56. M Pittonet 60. K Lovell 52. J O’Rourke
Int 21. L Walker 3. B Murphy 29. N Boucher
7. A Brolic 20. M Knoll 13. N Evans
6. S Horner 1. L Mackie
23rd 16. H Burt

Similar Posts