Preliminary Final Team Selection

Grant Birchall heads a list of four possible inclusions for Box Hill’s Preliminary Final with Williamstown, with the premiership Hawk in line for his first taste of competitive football in 441 days should he take the field.

Birchall’s inclusion may well hinge of the outcome of Friday night’s senior Semi-Final between Hawthorn and Melbourne, with those at Waverley no doubt keen to see the dashing half-back ply his trade after such a prolonged absence.

Should both teams be successful this weekend Birchall shapes as a brilliant addition to a side contesting an AFL Preliminary Final.

Another whose name is in the mix is ruckman Jonathon Ceglar, named at centre half-forward in Chris Newman’s extended squad.

Ceglar was a dominating presence in his appearances for Box Hill earlier in the season, playing as recently as the round 21 win over Geelong. The big-man slipped seamlessly into the role of ruck/forward following an 18-month layoff with a knee injury, using City Oval as a springboard into the AFL team.

Joining them are two members of Box Hill’s leadership group, Nick Evans and Billy Murphy.

Murphy is the Hawks’ second most prolific goalscorer in season 2018 and his pace and industry across half-forward can always be relied on.

The tricky small was unlucky to miss out on selection for both of the Brown and Gold’s finals thus far, having figured in his side’s final three home and away matches, including a three-goal performance against the ladder-leading Casey in round 20.

Evans was another who saw action in those last three games of the regular season and was unfortunately squeezed out by a handful of returning AFL-listed talent come the Elimination Final victory over Port Melbourne. Like Murphy, he’s one who can be relied upon if called upon, though unlike Murphy his area of expertise is across half-back.

Thus far there have been no omissions to the 23-man that was successful last Sunday.

Those planning to attend are encouraged to skip the queues and pre-book their tickets online. Tickets are available via

Ins: G. Birchall, J. Ceglar, N. Evans, B. Murphy

Box Hill Hawks vs. Williamstown
Sunday, 2:10pm, North Port Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 43. C Jiath 59. K Brand 42. T Miles
HB 44. C Glass 61. T O’Brien 34. G Birchall
C 50. D Willsmore 2. A Moore 52. J O’Rourke
HF 36. D Moore 57. J Ceglar 60. K Lovell
F 37. J Ross 39. M Lewis 51. B Whitecross
R 56. M Pittonet 36. J Cousins 41. O Hanrahan
Int 12. C Jones 10. W Hams 13. N Evans
4. M O’Donnell 7. A Brolic 3. B Murphy
14. N Lane 11. B Kilpatrick
23rd 17. T Maloney

Similar Posts