Moore to lead the Hawks into 2019

The Box Hill Hawks have unveiled the club’s new-look leadership group ahead of the 2019 VFL season.

Andrew Moore will continue as captain for a second season after leading his side to a premiership in 2018.

Moore took over the captaincy reigns after David Mirra was elevated to Hawthorn’s senior list at the end of 2017.

He will be assisted by new recruit Damian Mascitti who will shoulder vice captaincy duties.

Read: Box Hill thanks Pinwill

Mascitti joined the Hawks at the start of the pre-season, crossing from VFL rival Port Melbourne after seven seasons with the Borough. The utility helped his side to a premiership in 2017 and was twice named in the VFL Team of the Year.

Luke Meadows, Liam Mackie and Nathan Mullenger-McHugh will round out the Hawks’ five-man leadership group for 2019.

Box Hill Coach Max Bailey said it was pleasing to have such an exciting group lead the club into its premiership defence campaign.

“We are really confident we have a great mix of leaders that will hold us in good stead going into this upcoming season,” Bailey said.

“Moorey was an outstanding leader last year and a massive contributor towards our premiership success, and he will be well supported by a refreshed leadership group this year.

“While it’s quite a youthful group, they each bring a wealth of experience from their careers at both AFL and VFL clubs.

Meadows, another new recruit, joins the club from the WAFL’s West Perth. In 2018, he averaged 25 disposals and five tackles across 22 appearances to register a top-10 finish in the league best and fairest.

Mackie is heading into his second season with the Hawks, after spending a year on Collingwood’s list.

Mullenger-McHugh has also experienced life on an AFL list, coming in fresh from two years as a Bulldogs rookie.

The Hawks will kick off their season in a month’s time with a grand final rematch against Casey on April 7th.

Similar Posts