Moore to lead Hawks in 2018!

Box Hill has unveiled a new look seven-man leadership team, with Andrew Moore named captain heading into the 2018 season.

The 26-year-old takes the reins from David Mirra, who was drafted to Hawthorn via last year’s Rookie Draft. Mirra had led Box Hill since 2014, helping his side to three grand final appearances during his captaincy tenure.

Heading into his second year with the Hawks after AFL stints with Port Adelaide (2010-2015) and Richmond (2016), Moore has the necessary skills and experience to guide the Hawks into a new era.

“The players all voted unanimously that Andrew was the man for the role,” said VFL Coach Chris Newman.

“He’s had experience as vice-captain last year, and I think he’ll thrive with the newfound responsibility.

“He’s the second oldest on the list at 26, he’s quite forthright with his opinions, he knows the structures well and he has a great rapport with the group.”

Moore played 55 games at AFL level before joining the Hawks ahead of the 2017 season. He quickly found his feet at VFL level, receiving a nod in the VFL Team of the Year and registering a runner-up finish in Box Hill’s best and fairest.

The new skipper will be assisted by 2017 best and fairest winner Max Warren, who will continue as vice-captain after being voted in by the playing group. Nick Evans also returns to the leadership group, with new additions Billy Murphy, Chris Jones, Mitch O’Donnell and Will Hams rounding out the seven-man outfit.

Box Hill will kick off its pre-season campaign this Friday night against the Western Bulldogs at the Whitten Oval at 7pm.

Similar Posts