Elimination Final Team Selection

It’ll be the Box Hill Hawks and Port Melbourne in week one of the VFL finals for a second year running, with a storied recent rivalry cast against the stakes of elimination football.

Chris Newman welcomes a host of AFL-listed talent into his 27-man squad, including Daniel Howe, who will play his first match since the senior Hawks’ round 18 match against Carlton.

It’ll be an important hit-out should he feature, as he looks to regain form and fitness in an effort to push his case for a berth in Alastair Clarkson’s finals plans after a six-week absence.

Key tall Kaiden Brand is also named and will be important given Kurt Heatherley’s injury enforced omission. Port’s Jordan Lisle is always a consistent threat up forward, so Brand’s influence might well prove pivotal.

Midfielder James Cousins and crafty half-back Taylor Duryea also come back after a week off, whilst Teia Miles rejoins Newman’s squad for the first time since round 13, some nine weeks ago.

That trio adds a layer of run and polish to a side coming off three recent wins against teams in the top five and given the forecast of inclement weather could be tailor made for the conditions.

Skipper Andrew Moore is the only Box Hill-listed player named in the starting 18, though a mix of talls and smalls makes up the extended bench at Newman’s disposal, with the final make-up of team unlikely to be finalised until Saturday morning.

Tom Maloney retains his place in the match day 23, but this time as the 23rd man. Maloney had exhausted his allocation of four matches in that role come the end of the home and away season, but with the count resetting come finals will don the guernsey come Saturday.

With no AFL football on show all Hawks fans are encouraged to attend. Tickets are available for pre-sale and those planning on coming can skip the queues by visiting vfl.com.au/presale.

Ins: K. Brand, T. Duryea, T. Miles, D. Howe, J. Cousins
Outs: J. Ceglar, S. Parsons

Box Hill Hawks vs. Port Melbourne
Saturday, 2:10pm, North Port Oval

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 43. C Jiath 59. K Brand 64. T Duryea
HB 44. C Glass 61. T O’Brien 42. T Miles
C 63. D Howe 46. J Cousins 52. J O’Rourke
HF 36. D Moore 37. J Ross 41. O Hanrahan
F 51. B Whitecross 39. M Lewis 50. D Willsmore
R 56. M Pittonet 60. K Lovell 2. A Moore
Int 1. L Mackie 7. A Brolic 3. B Murphy
14. N Lane 11. B Kilpatrick 12. C Jones
10. W Hams 13. N Evans
23rd 17. T Maloney

Similar Posts