Elimination Final Ins & Outs

Clint Proctor and his match committee have named their team for Sunday’s Elimination Final against the Gold Coast Suns.

Into the squad comes the AFL-listed quartet of Dan Howe, Ned Long, James Blanck and Jack Saunders, with Box Hill’s star midfielder James Parsons the fifth and final addition to Clint Proctor’s 23-strong line-up.

Parsons shapes as a welcome and important addition to the squad, with Sunday’s match to be his first since the Hawks’ round 17 win over Werribee. 

Out of the side goes Sam Butler, who suffered a head knock last Saturday against Sydney, Max Walton, Mitch Sruk, Luis D’Angelo and Liam Coghlan – though the latter three have been retained as emergencies.

There are 10 AFL-listed Hawks named in all, ranging from the likes of young up-and-comers Max Ramsden and James Blanck to the class and experience of Liam Shiels.

Blanck re-joins the Box Hill back six he was drafted out of and will look to seamlessly link-up with Hugh Beasley, Damian Mascitti, Mason De Wit and Stu Horner.

Emerson Jeka will continue at centre half-back, a position he has taken to brilliantly since a mid-season shift from front to back, with the strong bodied Dan Howe alongside him on a flank. 

Parsons adds a touch of size and quality to a midfield mix that boasts a bit of everything. Jack Saunders and Ed Phillips will provide the run between the arcs; Ned Long and Cal Porter the grunt around the ball and Jordan Cunico the vision, clean hands and expert ball use forward of centre. 

Fergus Greene and Ben Cavarra – the VFL’s second and third most prolific goal kickers – will again lead the line, ably supported by the strong marking Jackson Callow, developing ruck David Brinker-Ritchie and big defender turned bullocking forward Kyle Hartigan. 

Any unforeseen changes to the selected 23 will be communicated when the Club publishes its final team at 5:30pm on Sunday.

Hawthorn fans are encouraged to follow the action on Sunday night via the AFL app or AFL website’s live stream. The broadcast starts at 6:00pm, with the first bounce scheduled for 6:05pm 

Ins: D Howe, N Long, J Blanck, J Saunders, J Parsons

Outs: S Butler, M Walton, M Sruk, L D’Angelo, L Coghlan


66. M De Wit

53. H Beasley

36. J Blanck


17. D Howe

39. E Jeka

29. J Serong


43. J Saunders

55. C Porter

27. N Long


52. B Cavarra

45. J Callow

88. J Parsons


91. D Brinker-Ritchie

56. F Greene

28. K Hartigan


38. M Ramsden

26. L Shiels

65. J Cunico


50. D Mascitti

60. E Phillips

61. M Hall


62. S Horner

64. B Grey



68. L D’Angelo

74. L Coghlan

80. M Sruk

Similar Posts