2018 Liston Trophy Re-Cap

Andrew Moore has finished in a tie for sixth in the 2018 J.J Liston Trophy for the VFL’s best and fairest player, polling 13 votes in just 13 matches, with the award ultimately shared by Richmond’s Anthony Miles and Williamstown’s Michael Gibbons, who won his second Liston, on 19 votes.

Although ineligible to win the award through suspension, the Hawks’ skipper’s tally is fine recognition of another terrific season at City Oval.

Moore polled in six matches, including maximum votes in the Round 11 victory over Frankston (38 disposals, 7 inside 50s, 6 clearances and 1 goal) and Round 17 triumph over Sandringham at Trevor Barker Beach Oval (33 disposals, 9 clearances, 6 inside 50s and 1 goal).

Developing ruck Marc Pittonet (8 votes) and midfield gun James Cousins (7) were the next best in Brown and Gold, with the pair’s good form reinforced by both their vote return and senior AFL call-ups during the season.

Cousins was adjudged best afield in the season opener away to Williamstown (18 disposals, 6 inside 50s and 3 goals) and the Round 2 win over Frankston (27 disposals, 7 clearances and 1 goal), performances which ultimately saw him elevated to the AFL.

Meanwhile, Pittonet took the three votes in Round 3 for a dominating performance in the ruck, compiling 53 hitouts, 10 disposals, 6 clearances and a goal in the ANZAC round win away at Coburg.

Jono O’Rourke’s 35-disposal game reaped maximum votes in the Round 5 win over Sandringham, whilst Jonathon Ceglar’s 28 touches, 28 hitouts, 7 clearances and one goal caught the umpire’s eyes and netted all three votes in Round 7’s beating of the Northern Blues.

Conor Nash and James Worpel took the votes in back-to-back weeks come rounds 14 and 15, the dashing Irishman judged best afield against Footscray on his way to a senior debut. Outstanding youngster Worpel’s stat line against Port Melbourne (34 touches, 8 clearances, 7 inside 50s and 1 goal) was more than enough for the three that day.

David Mirra won his only votes for the campaign in Round 20, his 17 disposals and three goals an important part in the Hawks’ win against top-of-the-table Casey at Box Hill City Oval and an effort especially appreciated by the umpires.

Finally, Mitch Lewis kicked a season-high 5 of his 37 goals for the year in Round 21, earning the praise of his coach and the men with the whistles in the progress.

Sadly, the VFL Hawks weren’t represented in the VFL Team of the Year, though the Hawthorn women enjoyed a successful night, with Emma Mackie tied for fourth in the VFLW Lambert-Pearce medal and Meg Hutchins tied for tenth.

Mackie, Jayde Van Dyk and Rebecca Beeson were all named in the competition’s team of the year.

Elsewhere, Box Hill President Tony Pinwill was awarded with VFL life membership for his outstanding service to the Club and game, whilst former Hawk Lachie George received the same honour.

Liston Trophy Count

Andrew Moore – 13 votes
Marc Pittonet – 8
James Cousins – 7
Mitch Lewis – 5
James Worpel – 4
Jonathan O’Rourke – 4
Conor Nash – 3
David Mirra – 3
Jonathon Ceglar – 3
Kieran Lovell – 3
Brendan Whitecross – 2
Mitch O’Donnell – 2
Teia Miles – 2
Will Hams – 2
Billy Evans – 1
Brayden Kilpatrick – 1
Dallas Willsmore – 1
Kurt Heatherley – 1
Ryan Burton – 1

Similar Posts