2017 Best & Fairest Re-Cap

The Box Hill Hawks celebrated the 2017 season this past Friday night at the Hawthorn Arts Centre, recognising the outstanding efforts and achievements of three teams and countless individuals both on and off-field.

The night was one for firsts and lasts, as three first-time winners took home their respective side’s best and fairest awards, our highly regarded Development program was honoured for the final time, and a slate of inaugural recipients from our trail-blazing women’s side etched their name in Box Hill Hawks folklore.

Col Austen Trophy

Max Warren claimed his first senior best and fairest – his first best and fairest of any kind, as he revealed after winning – on the back of a brilliant and consistent season across half back.

Having played every match, including captaining the side in the injury enforced absence of David Mirra, Warren was a standout figure in his side’s march to a second placed finish on the VFL ladder and run to a preliminary final.

In his second season in Brown and Gold, our number five’s 351 total possessions ranked third amongst all his teammates, with his ability to read the play and rebound from defence a key pillar of his side’s on-field success.

Speaking after receiving his award, Warren made special mention of the enjoyment he derived from football in 2017, something which no doubt contributed to his wonderful performances throughout the year.

“I sat down with Newy only a few weeks ago, and he said it looked like I enjoyed myself. I couldn’t agree more.

“This is probably the best year of football I’ve had, both on and off the field. We really were a club.”

Andrew Moore capped a stellar debut season at Box Hill City Oval with second place in the count. Moore excelled in 2017, winning Team of the Year honours, polling the most votes amongst his teammates in the J.J Liston Trophy and accumulating more possessions than any other man in Brown and Gold.

Developing ruck Marc Pittonet and exciting wingman Anthony Brolic tied for third place, with each man justifiably rewarded for outstanding seasons.

Final standings

1st – Max Warren – 72
2nd – Andrew Moore – 68
= 3rd – Marc Pittonet – 64
= 3rd – Anthony Brolic – 64
= 5th – Kade Stewart – 62
= 5th – Harry Morrison – 62
7th – David Mirra – 59
8th – Nick Evans – 57
9th – Ty Vickery – 55
10th – Kurt Heatherley – 54

Development Best and Fairest

Tom Maloney has taken out the final Box Hill Hawks Development League Best and Fairest in surely the tightest run Best and Fairest in Club history.

Just five votes separated first from sixth, with players trading places in the top ten right up until the final votes were cast following the Elimination Final defeat to Williamstown.

Decisively, Maloney polled prominently in the final weeks of the season to come home with a wet sail and clinch a deserved victory.

Like Warren, Maloney spoke of the bond between his teammates and how his transition from TAC Cup football to VFL was aided by a strong sense of brotherhood.

“The transition from TAC Cup to VFL was pretty hard, but the boys were so welcoming and I had a great year.

“The first night I came down I wasn’t sure where I wanted to play footy in 2017, but all the boys were so welcoming and it was so clear that this is a great club, so it was an easy choice in the end.”

1st – Tom Maloney – 64
2nd – Sam Gibson – 63
3rd – Liam Cox – 61
= 4th – Xavier Dimasi – 60
= 4th – Brayden Kilpatrick – 60
6th – Connor O’Sullivan – 59
7th – Stuart Horner – 54
8th – Lachlan Williams – 53
9th – Matthew Traynor – 51
= 10th – Dale Hehir – 49
= 10th – Lachlan Walker – 49

Other Awards

President’s Trophy: Awarded to the Box Hill Hawks player who receives the highest number of votes in the J.J Liston Trophy.

Winner: Andrew Moore

A.P Dickinson Trophy: Awarded to the Box Hill Hawks’ best clubman.

Winner: Sam Switkowski

3WBC Most Outstanding Player: Awarded by the 3WBC commentary team to the Box Hill Hawks’ player who is yet to make his AFL debut.

Winner: Nelson Lane

Box Hill Trainer’s Award: Voted on by all Box Hill Hawks’ trainers and awarded to recognise the player who is most respectful and polite.

Winner: Andrew Moore

Ron Gibbs Memorial Trophy: Awarded to an individual whose volunteerism and contributions to the Box Hill Hawks is especially meritorious, in this case recognising the work of media personality and MC Paul Hooper over fifteen years.

Winner: Paul Hooper

Development Leading Goalkicker: Dale Hehir

Seniors Leading Goalkicker: Ty Vickery

Most Consistent Award: Nick Evans

Honest Efforts Award: Kade Stewart

Best First Year Player: Nelson Lane

Best Finals Player: Kurt Heatherley

Women’s Best and Fairest

Our history making women saw the curtain drawn on their debut season with former elite cyclist Emma Mackie taking top honours from Jayde Van Dyk and captain Melissa Kuys.

Mackie was a standout amongst her teammates throughout the season, polling in every match in which she played to take the award by fifteen votes from Van Dyk.

Once on the stage she couldn’t hide her delight.

“How am I feeling? Nervous, but its an honour, Im so happy.”

“Its been a big jump up from where Ive played before, but its been a great experience; the girls and the club have been amazing, I love the place.

“I came into the club determined to set the bar pretty high.

“I’d like to say a huge thank you to everybody. First to the footy club, what can I say, its been amazing. I’ve felt a part of the family.

“To everyone here, we’re all looking forward to next year and showing what we can do.”

1st – Emma Mackie – 68
2nd – Jayde Van Dyk – 53
3rd – Melissa Kuys – 48
4th – Chantella Perera – 33
5th – Pip Peschke – 30
6th – Ebony Nixon – 29
7th – Tamara Luke – 28
= 8th – Rosie Dillon – 27
= 8th – Emily Gilder – 27
10th – Kristy Stratton – 25

Leading Goalkicker: Emily Gilder

Most Consistent: Ebony Nixon

Club Values Award: Tamara Luke

Similar Posts