2015 Col Austen Trophy Presentation Evening

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_video link=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ts46ND0TuhY&feature=youtu.be”][vc_column_text]On Friday Night players, coaches, staff and family gathered at the 2015 Col Austen presentation evening to celebrate this season and the individual effort of player’s outstanding achievements.

One player that shone every week was Hawthorn listed player Jonathan Simpkin. He started the night well taking out the Presidents Trophy which was awarded to the highest polling Box Hill player at the JJ Liston Medal.

The night didn’t stop there for Simpkin who added another two titles to his name. Contributing enormously to this year’s success he was awarded as the Best Finals Player and the highest award of the night, club champion with the 2015 Col Austen Trophy.

Multiple times throughout the season Simpkin amassed over 30 disposals and was named as one of the Hawk’s best on ground 13 times this year. The impressive Hawk assisted in multiple goals, stoppages and turnovers, a well deserving winner.

Box Hill captain David Mirra came runner-up in the Col Austen Trophy count with Kurt Heatherley close behind in third. Heatherley also being named the most consistent player of the 2015 season.

The best and fairest trophy for the development team was awarded to Chris Jones who continued to improve and develop as a player throughout the year. In his first senior team debut he kicked 5 goals and was named as one of the best on ground down at Simonds Stadium against Geelong.

Runner-up for the Development best and fairest award was Ryan Exon followed by Joseph Fisher who also impressed in their senior appearances. Ryan Exon also received the title of best finals player for the development team.

Leading goal kicker for Box Hill Hawks and across the entire VFL was Sam Grimley with 42 goals, his efforts resulting in his second consecutive Jim ‘Frosty’ Miller Medal.

Aidan Frantic and Chris Jones accumulated the equal most goals for the development side this season each kicking 25 goals.

At just 19 years old, Daniel Howe who joined Hawthorn this year was outstanding throughout the season, being rewarded for his outstanding performance at VFL level with four senior games with the Hawks. His efforts resulting in him being named this year’s winner of the Best First Year Player.

The Ron Gibbs Memorial Trophy for outstanding service was awarded to Alan McDonald. Alan has been involved continuously since he started as Football Manager in 1999 and was the inaugural BHH GM in 2000, thus has completed 17 seasons with the Club and received Life Membership in 2008.

In 2015 he has been overseeing the development rotations on the bench as well as running the board in the coach box for the senior side with Marco. A Big congratulations to Alan for his outstanding service for this great club.

Mitchell O’Donnell was named as the winner of the Honest Efforts award after an extremely successfully season, Mitchell’s attack on the footy has to be seen to be believed and was a deserved winner of this highly regarded award.

Sam Collins received the A.P Dickenson Memorial Trophy for best clubman and Tom Gordon received the Trainers Award.

Congratulations to all of the deserving award winners and thank you to everyone that made this season possible.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Similar Posts