Round Thirteen Team Selection

Chris Newman has added a mix of youth and experience to his squad for this Saturday’s showdown with the Tigers, offering places to those who’ve impressed at local level and a returning young gun.

Brayden Kilpatrick has worked his way into the coach’s calculations by way of standout displays for South Croydon, the last of which was recognised with the EFL’s Young Gun Award.

He’s joined in the 27-man squad by now former local teammate Anthony Brolic, who has transferred from South Croydon to Rowville.

Brolic, a member of last season’s VFL Team of the Year, will be keen to take his chance should it be offered, having felt the squeeze of a relatively injury-free Hawthorn.

Former Gold Coast Sun and Port Melbourne alum Leigh Osborne is in line for a potential debut in the Brown and Gold, his efforts at East Ringwood edging him ever closer to a spot in the matchday 23.

The good news story is the inclusion of Changkuoth Jiath, Hawthorn’s exciting rookie prospect. Jiath made an eye-catching debut in Box Hill’s round three win over Coburg, coming off the bench for a second-half cameo filled with high marking and terrific energy.

An out-and-out livewire, Jiath could prove an awkward match-up for the Tigers.

On a Box Hill front Mackenzie Doreian has retained his spot as 23rd man for a third successive week and will look to build on his growing confidence at VFL level.

Teia Miles has also been named, having overcome a worrying knock in the final term of last week’s loss to Essendon. The creative half-back was assisted from the field but has felt no ill-effects in the week since and will take his place.

Ins: A. Brolic, B. Kilpatrick, C. Jiath, L. Osborne
Outs: nil

Box Hill Hawks vs. Richmond
Saturday, 11:30am, Punt Road

Please note: team to be finalised prior to bounce.

B 32. D Mirra 59. K Brand 42. T Miles
HB 40. H Jones 34. K Heatherley 44. C Glass
C 50. D Willsmore 46. J Cousins 66. R Schoenmakers
HF 60. K Lovell 37. J Ross 38. J Worpel
F 45. C Nash 39. M Lewis 41. O Hanrahan
R 56. M Pittonet 36. D Moore 52. J O’Rourke
Int 4. M O’Donnell 7. A Brolic 11. B Kilpatrick
43. C Jiath 30. L Osborne 51. B Whitecross
10. W Hams 2. A Moore
23rd 25. M Doreian

Similar Posts