Hawks named in VFL team’s of the Year

At the 2017 VFL J.J Liston Trophy night, the Box Hill Hawks were represented by not only three players, but also the senior coach in the VFL team’s of the year.

In his first season in charge of the Hawks, Box Hill senior coach Chris Newman was voted as the VFL Coach of the Year. In what has been a great season thus far for the Hawks, Newman steered his side to a 2nd place finish and preliminary final berth in 2017. After a 10th place finish in 2016, Newman’s charges finished the year with a 13 win, 4 loss, and 1 draw record.

Midfielder and Vice-Captain Andrew Moore was recognised for his outstanding first season in the brown and gold, named as the Ruck Rover in the side. Having played 17 games, Moore was named in the Hawks best players on 9 occasions, and amassed an impressive 404 total disposals throughout 2017.

Joining Moore & Newman in the side was emerging forward Anthony Brolic, who was named on the interchange. Brolic enjoyed a stellar 2017 season, kicking 18 goals from his 19 game season.

Hawks inaugural women’s captain Melissa Kuys was also named on the interchange in the VFLW team of the year. Kuys was an important cog in the Hawks midfield in 2017 and was named amongst the side’s best player on 4 occasions.

Both Moore & Kuys were also the highest vote getters in the respective best and fairest vote counts.

VFL Seniors:

11 Votes – Andrew Moore

9 Votes – Billy Murphy

8 Votes – Ty Vickery*

6 Votes – Jack Fitzpatrick*

5 Votes – Brendan Whitecross*

4 Votes – Harry Morrison*, James Cousins*, Kade Stewart*

3 Votes – Billy Evans, Chris Jones, Sam Switkowski, Teia Miles*

2 Votes – David Mirra, Marc Pittonet*, Max Warren, Nelson Lane, Will Hams

1 Vote – Taylor Duryea*, Jaeger O’Meara*, Will Langford*


VFL Development:

10 Votes – Billy Murphy (Equal 2nd in count)

9 Votes – Brayden Kilpatrick

6 Votes – Xavier Dimasi

4 Votes – Jordan Walker

3 Votes – Aaron Bond, Chris Jones, Sam Gibson

2 Votes – Connor O’Sullivan, Dale Hehir, Joe Fisher, Matthew Traynor, Zach Monkhorst

1 Vote – Lachie Williams, Sam Parsons


VFL Women’s

11 Votes – Melissa Kuys

7 Votes – Emma Mackie

3 Votes – Abbey Tanner, Julia Crockett-Grills

1 Vote – Emily Gilder


*Hawthorn listed player. 

Similar Posts